The Hawley Book of the Dead: A Novel

The Hawley Book of the Dead: A Novel

Chrysler Szarlan


NAMED the most effective BOOKS OF THE yr by way of NPR

For lovers of The Physick booklet of Deliverance Dane and A Discovery of Witches comes a brilliantly imagined debut novel brimming with wealthy background, suspense, and magic.
 
Revelation “Reve” Dyer grew up together with her grandmother’s kin tales, stretching again centuries to Reve’s ancestors, who based the city of Hawley 5 Corners, Massachusetts. Their background is steeped in secrets and techniques, for few outsiders recognize that an old magic runs within the Dyer women’s blood, and that Reve is a magician whose powers are all too real.
 
Reve and her husband are world-famous Las Vegas illusionists. they've got 3 stunning younger daughters, a gorgeous domestic, and what feels like a charmed existence. yet Reve’s international is shattered while an outsider alters her trick pistol and he or she by accident shoots and kills her cherished husband onstage.
 
Fearing for her daughters’ lives, Reve flees with them to where she has continuously felt safest—an antiquated farmhouse within the wooded area of Hawley 5 Corners, the place the magic of her ancestors reigns, and her oldest friend—and first love—is the town’s leader of police. the following, within the wooded area, with its indisputable air of appeal, Reve hopes she and her women might be protected.
 
Delving into the previous for solutions, Reve is drawn deeper into her family’s legends. What she discovers is The Hawley e-book of the lifeless, an historic leather-bound magazine preserving mysterious mythic strength. As she items jointly the reality in the back of the e-book, Reve should safeguard herself and her daughters opposed to an doubtful, more and more risky destiny. For quickly it turns into transparent that the stranger who upended Reve’s lifestyles in Las Vegas has her to Hawley—and that she has anything he desperately wants.
 
Brimming with wealthy historical past, suspense, and magic, The Hawley e-book of the Dead is a brilliantly imagined debut novel from a riveting new voice.

Praise for The Hawley booklet of the Dead
 
“An educated and guaranteed release . . . Readers can be completely engaged [by] the literary, magical, horse-loving Reve.”Publishers Weekly (starred review)
 
“Enthralling . . . a magic-fueled story of latest romantic suspense.”Booklist (starred evaluation)
 
“The middle narrative is powerful [with] a formal hook. . . . The scenes with Reve and her daughters ring true.”Library Journal
 
“An notable debut novel that mixes a number of genres seamlessly.”Huntington News
 
“Engrossing . . . a unique worth researching . . . within the vein of authors like Deborah Harkness and Katherine Howe, magic and fact are completely blended.”BookPage
 
“With a fast velocity and delightful info that sincerely set the scene and temper, [Chrysler] Szarlan’s novel is a smart learn should you love myth and stories of witchcraft.”Shelf Awareness

The Hawley e-book of the Dead had me thoroughly spellbound from starting to finish. A storytelling virtuosa, Chrysler Szarlan has woven a wondrous, scintillating internet of suspense, love, heritage, and magic that might continue you eagerly turning the pages past due into the evening. Even readers now not generally interested in the supernatural can be swept away by means of this publication; it has every thing a very good event should still have—and a lot more.”—Anne Fortier
 
“A haunting tale of affection, loss, kinfolk secrets and techniques, mysteries, and magic.”—Lauren Willig

Show sample text content

Download sample