The Lamp with Wings: Love Sonnets (National Poetry Series)

The Lamp with Wings: Love Sonnets (National Poetry Series)

M. A. Vizsolyi

A winner of the 2010 nationwide Poetry sequence Prize as chosen via Ilya Kaminsky (author of Dancing in Odessa, recipient of the 2004 Whiting Award, the Ruth Lilly Fellowship, between different honors, and co-editor of The Ecco Anthology of overseas Poetry), Vizsolyi's paintings perpetuates NPS's culture of marketing unparalleled poetry from rising poets.

Kaminksy writes that Vizsolyi's poetry “is erotic the best way Catullus was once erotic, and Mayakovsky. The voice is smug and smooth, it is going 'on the nerve,' as Frank O'Hara informed us the poet needs to. This booklet with knock your socks off. this can be genuine poetry.”

For thirty years, the nationwide Poetry sequence has chanced on many new voices and has been instrumental in launching the careers of poets and writers comparable to Billy Collins, Mark Doty, Denis Johnson, Cole Swensen, Thylias Moss, Mark Levine, and Dionisio Martinez.

Show sample text content

Download sample